Fashion Choice: Socks and Sandals

I really don’t want to admit that it’s time to move to regular shoes.  I am not really into shoes for fashion; it’s all about utility and comfort. Luckily, this summer was the first time I bought myself a pair of Teva sandals, and they are adaptable to the changing seasons.  And they really are as comfortable as I had heard.  Now that it’s chillier, I’ve still been wearing them.  Sometimes with socks.

You Gotta Problem With That?

I’ve never had an aversion to socks with sandals since I grew up with that fashion choice.  My sisters haven’t adhered to the family trend, but I find it quite useful.   Actually, I don’t think anyone in my family, not even the extended family living in Germany, ever wore pink and purple striped socks with green Tevas.  But it made me happy to look down in the Shoprite parking lot at 7 AM on a Sunday and see them.

And just so you don’t think it was a fluke.  Here are my same Teva sandals with socks during a hike in Maine.  I didn’t want a tic in between my toes, so I wore sandals.  (I still got a tic, but not on my feet!)

Sensible and comfortable. Laugh all you want.

About That Unique* Weblog

Adjusting to car culture, dealing with leaving a career I loved, and spouting off along the way. Do The Most Good.
This entry was posted in People do silly things, random observation, Things I love and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Fashion Choice: Socks and Sandals

  1. This is bad Kristin. I may have to organize an intervention.

  2. Those are super-cute! They are kind of 80s-meets-space cowboy-meets-runway. But they’d never work with pink-striped socks.

  3. Christina says:

    I have to second what Georgette says.

  4. Carla Gutierrez says:

    I agree with Georgette as well. Intervention!

  5. The thing is, my feet are bigger now post-two kids. And tall boots (which I love) are close to impossible for me. And I love showing off my blue toenails. And….and….and….

  6. Andrea says:

    All I have to say is thank God you told the world that I don’t adhere to such horrifying fashion choices. I like comfortable shoes just as much as the next person, but you there is such a thing as comfortable and cute.

    And to those calling for an intervention, good luck, we have been trying to intervene for years without success. She’s a hopeless cause.

  7. I would like to check back in 5-10 years adn see if your teenage children have made you reform your fashion ways.

  8. Ummm. . .it’s so not right. Aren’t you a Jersey girl now?

  9. oh no…no socks with sandals. you must have not received the memo that’s not 1992 anymore!

  10. Steve says:

    Very cute sandals, You know how to color coordinate sandals and socks. i’d love to see more pics of you wearing them.

  11. Lenore Diane says:

    Word Girl …. The following quote was taken from my “About” page:
    “Be warned, I often mention my love of ice cream, doughnuts, turtlenecks and socks worn with sandals. If those subjects bother or annoy you, feel free to spend your reading time elsewhere.”
    Woooord Up!

  12. Dan says:

    I will not support an intervention. Funky socks (and I mean that in a good way) are meant to be shown off, and sandals look better with socks anyway. Keep on wearing socks with your Tevas! You would also look great wearing socks with Birkenstocks.

  13. Laura says:

    I will stand with you in my socks and Chaco’s (similar to Teva’s)! 🙂

Leave a comment