Back in the Swing of Things

IMG_4177

I am a child of routine. I like knowing where I’m supposed to be and for how long I’m supposed to be there. It’s part of what makes teaching so appealing. Some people are horrified by timed bells; I am comforted by them.

Over the last couple of weeks, before school started up again, I felt like I was running around in a hellish hurricane of events and obligations and changing schedules and needs and wants and appointments and so on and so forth. I was not practicing what I preach.

Freelance work demands a certain amount of assertive response to requests and tough love for yourself in order to be successful and get work done. You have to be your own bell schedule. Even after all these years of multiple part-time jobs and myriad volunteer activities, I still don’t have that down. I’m learning to say NO, and mean it. I’m learning to schedule myself and focus despite world and national events. I’m learning that it’s not, actually, all on me. I’m learning that I can do more better if I agree to less. I’m still learning.

So today, the Monday of the first full day of school for the kids, I took my first morning walk to the park with the dog in a long time. I took deep breaths, I put my phone in my pocket, and I recommitted to taking better care of myself so that I can take better care of my family, my causes, and my jobs, myself.

I invite you to get back in the swing of things this September as well. Clear out the flotsam, definitely kick out the jetsam, and focus on the things that really matter to YOU.

Please feel free to leave tips in comments because I’m going to need all the help I can get!

About That Unique* Weblog

Adjusting to the car culture, dealing with leaving a career I love, and spouting off along the way.
This entry was posted in Beating Back the Aging Process (ha!), People do silly things, Suburban Life, volunteering and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back in the Swing of Things

Leave a Reply

