What Makes Life Worth Living

Facebook “memories” is a pretty cool feature for those of us with less-than-perfect recall. And sometimes FB friends share posts that scroll onto your screen at the perfect time. With permission, I’m reposting this year old confession from a friend of whom I am perpetually in awe. Thank you, Rachel, for allowing me to share this story and the poem you paired with it.


12046811_1212076838807626_2888683741818525327_nThis morning, I came home crying and my eldest leaned on me and asked why. I held her on my lap and told her that on my drive home I was stopped at a stop light while a man with a sign saying “please help” walked down the line of cars. As he approached my car I looked down, but not fast enough to not make eye contact for a second. I had one of those despair-filled, “This life is too hard, I don’t know how to do it” moments.

Then, the man in the car next to me rolled down his window and held out some money. The man with the sign ran over to him, and the two men held hands out the window and talked until the light changed. The man with the sign went back to the side and didn’t stop waving at the man in the car until we were out of sight.

I cried watching them, and I cried all the way home because it was one of those moments that I’m pretty sure I’ll remember for the rest of my life and that will remind me that reaching out might not always make life less hard, but that it is what makes life worth living.

About That Unique* Weblog

Adjusting to the car culture, dealing with leaving a career I love, and spouting off along the way.
This entry was posted in Memory, Parenthood, People are Good, random observation, Things I love, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

