Glad I Saw It: Syrniki

IMG_5116

Syrniki: Pre-Frying

So really, this isn’t Glad I Saw It, but Glad I Ate It. Although, I was glad to see part of the process used in creating these delicious cheese pancakes from Russia: Syrniki.

Mostly ricotta, these pancakes have a slightly sour flavor that goes well with sugar (lots of sugar!), butter, or any variety of savory toppings, depending on your taste. I tried one with sour cream and roe. Quite tasty. Check out the chef’s math-focused blog post that includes his recipe.

I’ve had these particular Syrniki a few times, always delicious. The last time was at a friend’s New Year’s Day Open House, and they were just a small part of the huge spread imported from a combination of Brighton Beach and the host’s kitchen.

Don’t think I didn’t contribute. I quartered the pickles and brought a store-bought Stollen. I hope your New Year started on a similarly delicious note!

Syrniki: Frying

Syrniki: Frying

This is not the recipe from which the Syrniki I ate were made, but it sounds delicious as well: Saveur’s version of Syrniki.

IMG_5122

Happy New Year for the Belly!

About That Unique* Weblog

Adjusting to car culture, dealing with leaving a career I loved, and spouting off along the way. #RESIST
This entry was posted in Excellent Local People, Glad I Saw It and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

