Social Collisions Solved

The source of many misunderstandings: Shy and socially awkward people think no one else is. Outgoing and gregarious people think everyone else is. 

little miss shyAs someone who considers herself shy and socially awkward (despite few people ever believing me), I’ve become hyper aware of how brief public interactions can be perceived. Where to rest a gaze while walking through town, how loud (or quiet) to make a greeting, how wide to smile in passing without seeming creepy, how invisible I was the last time I met you, and so on. All of these thoughts obsess those of us further along on the shyness scale. To help me remember it’s not all about me, I came up with the gem bolded above. Let me know if you agree, and the next time we pass, please remember that I’m not trying to seem (overly) creepy, I’m just working on my social graces.

About That Unique* Weblog

Adjusting to the car culture, dealing with leaving a career I love, and spouting off along the way.
This entry was posted in People are Good, People do silly things, random observation and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Social Collisions Solved

  1. michellelongo says:

    I completely agree with you. And as someone else who is often told that she doesn’t seem shy, I know how hard it is to feel that way and have no one believe you. I believe you though.

Leave a Reply

