Women’s History X

X is for Women Whose Names We Don't Know

Congratulations, Stephanie! You (or the recipient of your shout out) will receive a copy of Rad American Women!

A friend (Thanks, Amy!) recently posted a link to this post on Dangerous Minds about an ABC book called Rad American Women A-Z: Rebels, Trailblazers, and Visionaries.

I love the look of it. I love the highlighted women. I love that it used the Oxford Comma the way I do. I love the graphics. Sloppy, happy love all around.

I especially love the X page. We all know women (and men, yes I know! but this is March for one day more) who remain in the shadows — either by choice or otherwise — and show amazing strength, creativity, care, and just plain stellar power in ways that don’t make them (in)famous for their 15 minutes or longer of fame.

I’m going to ask anyone who knows a woman like that to shout her out in comments. I’ll pick one comment randomly, and that person will receive a copy of this AMAZING book! This is not sponsored, no one else is paying for it or asking me to post this. I just really love it. (Don’t believe me? Re-read the second paragraph.)

If you want to go ahead and buy the book on your own, please do so at a local bookstore and not on Amazon. Please? Pretty please?

Comment away!

Continental USA only, please

About That Unique* Weblog

Adjusting to car culture, dealing with leaving a career I loved, and spouting off along the way. #RESIST
This entry was posted in giveaway, People are Good, yeah write and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Women’s History X

  1. Your Husband says:

    Um, you?

  2. “Your Husband,” beat me to it. I say this sincerely—You. You are a woman who deserves a shout out.

  3. Sabina says:

    My best friend–she hates the limelight, but she’s so interesting, intelligent, and compassionate that she deserves it.

  4. johar1 says:

    Since I cannot mention you (or can I?) i will choose Emily Haine Wiesemann for being a great lady all around, a cool mom and because she just celebrated her bday.

  5. Stephanie says:

    Ahh! I just saw this book online somewhere and told Logan we must get it for our girls. Shout out to my mom, who doesn’t do the interwebs really, so she won’t see this. She’s the toughest woman I know. Pure Iowan farm girl, no-nonsense and practical, yet full of love, loyalty, and patience. (I’ll make sure to share this with her IRL although I already do, all the time.)

  6. Rachel says:

    I have been in awe of my daughter’s single mom, golden hearted, incredibly hard working first grade teacher. She is full of tenacity and commitment to goodness and it is mind boggling to think of her nine years of teaching and the number of children (and their parents and communities!) that have received the benefits that come from her love and sacrifices. My conclusion is Ms. Christie Muzik is stellar in every way you mentioned and deserves much more than 15 minutes of fame, in my book.

Leave a Reply

