Glad I Saw It: Escaping with Books

Vacation-Reading-WPA-Poster

Image found at Book Riot. Click image to go there.

Did you know that we are living in the most peaceful time of human history? Doesn’t feel like it, does it? What with the television and radio and Facebook and Twitter and Reddit and emails and headlines about Syria and Gaza and Nigeria and The USA and Central America and Afghanistan and on and on and on it hardly seems peaceful.

We can thank modern connectivity and retrained brains that hunger for instant access and constant stimulation — even when that stimulation is a depressant.

And those of you who know me know I don’t ignore these issues. However, I do see value in escaping. It’s like putting on your oxygen mask first so you can help others. Burning out on horror can lead to apathy, resentment, anger, prejudice, and despair. It’s important, if we want to continue to do Good, to maintain our sanity. Our humanity.

May I humbly suggest that each of us takes a chunk of time each day to escape to another world between the pages of a book. Choose something simple, like a romance novel. Choose something funny like a book of essays by Tina Fey or David Sedaris. Choose something from a different culture or time period. Choose something with dragons or other planets or shape-shifters. Choose something from your child’s bookshelf.

Stop. Breathe. Choose something to read.

I finished The Hunger Games trilogy recently. And I’m going to re-read The Phantom Tollbooth before I introduce it to my son. What will you read?

 

About That Unique* Weblog

Adjusting to car culture, dealing with leaving a career I loved, and spouting off along the way. #RESIST
This entry was posted in Glad I Saw It, People are Good and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Glad I Saw It: Escaping with Books

  1. Dave Astor says:

    Eloquent, wise post.

    I read “The Hunger Games” a year or two ago and thought it was excellent — especially the first two books. The trilogy had a lot to say about matters such as violence and class differences while also being entertaining (in its horrific, dystopian way).

    • I will admit that while I was attracted to the dystopian premise, I was pretty horrified by the child on child violence. But I read an interview with the author about being inspired by us all watching shows like Survivor and Big Brother, where people are pretty horrible to each other as well. Made sense for a dystopian novel to take it further.

      Thanks for visiting, David!

Leave a Reply

