Harold and Maude Messed Me Up.

HaroldMaude-731178I don’t mean the love story told in the film actually messed up my head. I mean that repeatedly watching Harold and Maude messed up my score for 80’s Teen Flicks! I only got a 36! I seriously thought I would get in the high 80’s or low 90’s. I love John Hughes films, and I thought that I was pretty much an 80’s Flick connoisseur. I am not.

But when I thought about it, I realized that as my high school career matured, I started leaning more towards music and entertainment from earlier years. Queen, The Beatles, Elton John, Jimi Hendrix, Janis Joplin, Bob Dylan, Aretha Franklin, Cat Stevens, Carole King. You get the idea.

So many of the movies I watched on repeat were closely attached to music for me. They played on repeat for both sound and picture. I watched Harold & Maude for the first time and fell in love with Cat Stevens’ music. And there was The Graduate with Simon & Garfunkel. The Blues Brothers (1980, but more from the 70’s) brought Aretha Franklin to a suburban 80’s kid. And of course Pink Floyd’s The Wall and The Beatles’ various films, especially Yellow Submarine, were regular screenings. And then there was The Rocky Horror Picture Show and all the Monty Python films. (Granted, The Meaning of Life is early 80’s, but it’s not quite comparable to Weird Science, now is it?)

So anyway, that’s my excuse for my abysmal score of 36 on this 80’s Teen Flicks test. What is your score? Share your score and your favorite 80’s Teen Flick in comments!

About That Unique* Weblog

Adjusting to the car culture, dealing with leaving a career I love, and spouting off along the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Harold and Maude Messed Me Up.

  1. Marcy says:

    I scored 37 (yay! I win!), but I think that’s a sign of how many idiotic movies I ate up in my youth. There were some good ones in there too and plenty that weren’t so good, but I loved them anyway. (“I want my two dollars!”)

  2. gem says:

    17. You can tell I grew up in a small town with a video store the size of my living room.

  3. Calamity Rae says:

    lol I only scored 35. I thought I was way hipper than that. =(

  4. Karen says:

    I only scored a 31, and I graduated from high school in 1982.

    I have to admit that I was super excited when I saw your Harold and Maude picture on the grid. It’s my favorite movie! I’ve probably seen it 25 times. When I was 19, I befriended this really morose (and darkly funny) 16 year old kid that I worked with at Burger King. He’s the one who turned me on to that movie. He told me that I was his Maude. Hahahaha – at my advanced age of 19! Still, it was one of the sweetest things anyone has ever said to me.

  5. Erica M says:

    27. I was in college for half the Eighties. I guess this was past my teen flick years. That was a fun call to action for your readers.

  6. lrconsiderer says:

    3. For reals. I hope you feel better now.

  7. Holy crap, I only scored 14. And I thought I’d seen a lot of teen 80’s movies just because I worship John Hughes…

  8. anna says:

    41! I loved Harold and Maude, but I REALLY loved Heathers. My three friends and I dressed as Heathers for our entire senior year, lunch room polls and all. (I was green Heather if you were wondering.)

  9. 39, but there are some movies that I thought “I can never un-see that one.”

  10. Ken says:

    I got a 39. I kept waiting for Corvette Summer to come up, but apparently it was from 1978. I thought that was the coolest movie ever, back in the day, so I’m a little scared to watch it now and ruin the memory. 🙂

Leave a Reply

