Picture Books Month is For Everyone

_GiveAPictureBook-v2-600

image from inkygirl.com by Debbie Ridpath Ohi

It makes sense that November is Picture Book Month. The desire to hibernate sets in, and huddling under a blanket with a snuggly kid and a book sounds more and more delightful. Check out this amazing Picture Book Month post from inkygirl (aka Debbie Ridpath Ohi) for why picture books are important.

When my kids were very little, one of our favorite books was HUG by Jez Alborough. The kids loved “reading” along to it — and eventually, HUG became the first word my son actually sounded out and read on his own. I’ll also admit to weeping next to my 2-year-old the first time we read it. (I had recently given birth to the second — maybe the hormones?) Anyway, it’s a simple, lovely picture book.

Another favorite is Sandra Boynton’s But Not the Hippopotamus. We read this so often that we started making up new adventures to draw out the story even more. Here’s my kid sharing her version.

Other favorites include hand-me-downs like Slinki Malinki and old loves found at the library like Amelia Bedelia (the original!) and wonderful gifts like The Little Yellow Leaf. This year, there’s the ultimate picture book from Humans of New York — talk about gift-giving!

Which picture books were your favorites and are must-haves for your family?

About That Unique* Weblog

Adjusting to the car culture, dealing with leaving a career I love, and spouting off along the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Picture Books Month is For Everyone

  1. I haven’t told you yet that I love you’re using Word Girl as your avatar.

    Right now, my kids’ favorites are Llama Llama Misses Mama and Where The Wild Things Are. My son (who is on the autism spectrum & has a severe speech delay) has started “reading” from memory those books to my daughter, and it makes me feel like maybe I’ve managed to do one thing right in raising them thus far.

  2. My oldest daughter LOVED “Whistle For Willie” by Ezra Jack Keats. And She would read the story and try so hard to whistle like Peter did. I have that book put away. The little wet marks on the pages left over from her whistling, which was just spitting at that age, warms my heart.

  3. LOVE that Hug book, just loved it. As did my kids. We were also very fond of Eric Carle’s book about Pancakes… and all the Boynton books….ah picture books. I’m all nostalgic now.

  4. My mom would always read us the Dr Seuss Happy Birthday to You book on our birthdays, a tradition I’ve continued in our family. On an entirely non-sentimental note, we have Goodnight i-Pad and it kills me every time.

Leave a Reply

