Lazy Mom’s Guide to Hide & Seek

It’s really Mean Mommy Hide & Seek. And it really is mean on some level. But I feel like you’ll understand when you hear some context.

On rainy days, we play a variety of games – you know, once I can no longer convince the whippersnappers to color another picture of Tiana or build another rainbow-colored AT-AT Walker out of various block-like materials. And my kids love hide & seek. Occasionally, they are even very good at hiding. The trouble is that once they find an effective spot, they tend to use that spot again and again. So I volunteer to hide. And I really try to make it a good game. So, in proper Hide & Seek style, I don’t answer when they call, “Mommy! Mom! Mommeeeee! MOM!” I mean, what would be the point?

This video was taken soon after the two seekers streaked past the corner in which I was hiding. Literally (and I mean that literally) a few seconds had passed when I started recording. That gives you some idea about how much patience they have for games like this.  “Answer now! Or we won’t find you!”

Make sure to have the volume on – otherwise all you’ll see is a chair with a bookshelf as backdrop. With a good listen, you’ll soon realize just how much sweetness and respect my children have for me. You can hear it in the timbre of their voices. And I do not mean that literally.

Do you think this was cruel and unusual treatment of my children? Did they deserve to be scared after ordering me in no uncertain terms to show myself or else? Maybe my giggling in the background is the cruel part? Will they need therapy for these 40-odd seconds of terror? So many possible outcomes…

Checking out the moonshine grid this weekend over at yeah write. Come on over!

About That Unique* Weblog

Adjusting to the car culture, dealing with leaving a career I love, and spouting off along the way.
This entry was posted in Beating Back the Aging Process (ha!), Lazy Mom, Parenthood, People do silly things, Suburban Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Lazy Mom’s Guide to Hide & Seek

  1. No, not mean at all. Most excellent.

  2. outlawmama says:

    I am totally in love with this video. and salivating over your well appointed house. Those bookshelves are impeccable.

  3. Karen says:

    So funny, and I love the pure joy on their faces when they *finally* discover you 46 seconds later!

  4. TheJackB says:

    I know that tone of voice from my own kids. Hee hee.

  5. I love you and I love your kids. You all are just too adorable.

    (I love the assumption that you’ll be lost if they don’t find you. You’re in your OWN house! You can’t actually be lost. Silly little ones.)

  6. just JENNIFER says:

    You absolutely did the right thing! LOL

Leave a Reply

