Glad I Saw It: The Stacks

The Extra Book Room

The Extra Book Room

I love bookstores. New bookstores are great, but I truly love used bookstores. Slowly dragging a finger down a slightly askew stack of classics mixed with tawdry romances is my idea of living large. A couple of days ago we found a bookstore on the second floor of a commercial street, and as soon as we entered its cramped, wonderful space, I knew we were set for an afternoon of hide-and-seek with the perfect piece of writing just beyond our fingertips.

Except there were the kids. Yeah, they lasted about ten minutes – and that included eight minutes of whining. My sister read One Morning in Maine to one child, and the other was sated for a bit when he found Harry Potter.

But just knowing that bookstores like this still exist (with vinyl, too!), is good for my soul. And one our way out, I spied a room – easily the same size as the store – filled to the gills with more books. Oh! to sneak in there with a flashlight and find buried treasure!

 

moonshineSpeaking of buried treasure — come check out yeah write’s collection of writers. The easiest dip into the fun is the Moonshine Grid. Check it out here: Moonshine, yum!

About That Unique* Weblog

Adjusting to the car culture, dealing with leaving a career I love, and spouting off along the way.
This entry was posted in Glad I Saw It and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Glad I Saw It: The Stacks

  1. Stacie says:

    I’ll go there with you!! I won’t even whine.

  2. I’m really impressed with your ability to find these hidden gems.

  3. outlawmama says:

    I so love the old bookstores. *sigh* so few these days.

  4. I’m with you – old bookstores make my heart beat faster. A new used bookstore just opened up down the street from me – books by the pound or something like that – I can’t wait to lose myself there sans kids!

  5. mannahattamamma says:

    Bookstores are heaven, especially used bookstores or independent bookstores. One of the things I miss in Abu Dhabi is used bookstores…and libraries. I figure libraries are like used bookstores except the books are free and you don’t have to find room on the shelves in your house!

  6. zoe says:

    I love these stores…we have one near us that used to be an old factory …I swear they use every inch of that space for books and reading areas…Its the best!

  7. Karen says:

    Used bookstores are my favorite places to spend time (and money). There’s a great one in my town that also gives store credit. I buy lots of books at garage sales and bring them in for credit. I go to the bookstore so often that they know me, and they know what I like to read, so they give me lots of great reading suggestions.

  8. nikkiana says:

    I love bookstores like that! The sort of place where the books find you rather than going to find something specific… So much fun!

    Also, One Morning in Maine was one of my favorite books when I was little…. Hadn’t thought about that one in years!

  9. TriGirl says:

    Oh my gosh, the first time I went to New York I ended up in The Strand in the village. It was such a great store to stumble upon and I could have stayed there all day…biggest used bookstore I’ve ever seen.

  10. anna says:

    In my hometown there was a great used bookstore,which seemed haunted, and when I was a teenager my best friend and I would buy science fiction books from there convinced they had extra-worldly powers.

  11. Sam Merel says:

    I love used bookstores too, and I have my favorites in my neighborhood, but I also try to find one wherever I go when I travel. My best find of all time was a tiny used bookstore off of a main street in Jerusalem when I was there last spring. And, being the romance novel buff that I am, I was more than thrilled to find a Nora Roberts book translated into Hebrew.

Leave a Reply

