Glad I Saw It: Rainbow Dragon

2013 Year of the SnakeFor a few years, when I lived in Sunset Park, Brooklyn, I celebrated the Chinese New Year at the parade on 8th Avenue, Brooklyn’s Chinatown area. I haven’t even paid attention to it for a while. And it’s such a fun, hopeful, joyful time that I really want to get back into celebrating it.

My son’s school has a fantastic dragon in the hallway. Especially appropriate considering the Year of the Snake is coming. Each part of the body is a child’s paper plate self-portrait. It’s absolutely adorable – and a total party on the wall.

How are you celebrating?

My suggestion: Consider celebrating with some Moonshine over at yeah write.

About That Unique* Weblog

Adjusting to the car culture, dealing with leaving a career I love, and spouting off along the way.
This entry was posted in Glad I Saw It, random observation and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Glad I Saw It: Rainbow Dragon

  1. I loved this pic when I saw it on IG. And as for how we’re celebrating- it’s Carnival here so it’s insane. Planning on a parade tomorrow and hoping there aren’t fireworks tonight πŸ™‚

  2. That is such a great idea to make a snake out of the kids’ faces!

  3. I loved it the first time when I saw it on Instagram! So cute πŸ™‚

  4. What a cool way to display the self-portraits!

  5. Jared Karol says:

    We’re celebrating by going to Panda Express tonight (at my four year old son’s suggestion). . . On a more serious note, when I used to to teach ancient Chinese history to sixth graders, we’d always tie in the Chinese New Year, and the kids would have a blast w/ the costumes and the traditions. . . and of course the dragons. Fun, fun!

  6. That’s such a cool looking dragon. My daughter’s school had some kind of celebration which made me realize that I know next to nothing about Chinese New Year. I should probably google myself up some cultural literacy and figure out something for us to do.

  7. Robbie says:

    Not celebrating it this year but last year we experienced to MOST amazing celebration at our friends Chinese church…in Kansas of all places!

  8. I saw a post on Facebook that it looked like a bunch of families who had adopted girls from China went out to dinner last night to celebrate. Seeing your post made it all click. That is one cool dragon.

  9. That’s the coolest dragon! What a great idea. We aren’t celebrating, but now I kind of want to…

  10. That dragon is great! My daughter brought home a Chinese New Year craft, but it wasn’t as cool as that.

  11. Esther says:

    Love that dragon! What a great design.

  12. anna says:

    i love Chinese New Year – but only celebrate as an outsider. Last year I got my kids envelopes with Hello Kitty and they were a big hit!

  13. Hey thats really neat and cool! I was born in the year of the Dragon =]

Leave a Reply

