I can’t wait to Shake Out the Sillies with Foofa and Plex

012-Jumping mk sized copyI think it was the fault of Frodo Baggins, but it may have been The Ting Tings. But from the first time I watched DJ Lance Rock’s fuzzy, orange hat rise into view, I knew I was hooked. Luckily, as a new mom, I had the perfect excuse to watch Yo Gabba Gabba! despite my infant being too young to watch. It was the right amount of goofy and possibly-hip for a definitely goofy and utterly-unhip, late-30’s mom.

So fast-forward a few years, add another kid to the mix, and you KNOW I’m taking the family to see Yo Gabba Gabba! Live! Honestly, even though the show is in less than a week, I haven’t even told the kids we’re going. There are only so many times in a day that I can stand to hear “Is it today? We’ll see Muno’s teeth today?” or “I want to see Foofa dance – NOW!”028-Lance and Plex MK

For myself, I’m looking forward to seeing Biz Markie. As much as I remember “Just a Friend” from college parties, I really love the “Biz’s Beat of the Day” segment of Yo Gabba Gabba! If it were a perfect world, Amy Sedaris would show-up as the Tooth Fairy as well.

This far into winter, I just know those of you with young children are feeling the cabin fever and pent-up vivacity that we have in my house. My kids sometimes seem about to explode with their goofy, silly, sometimes frightening energy.  This Yo Gabba Gabba! show on Sunday at the Wellmont Theatre is exactly what we need to “Get the Sillies Out!”

 The sillies are crazy little creatures that live inside of us and need to be shaken out! DJ Lance Rock and everyone’s favorite cast of colorful characters are calling all fans to get ready to jump, shake and shimmy them out at the new live tour Yo Gabba Gabba! LIVE!: Get the Sillies Out!Yo Gabba Gabba! LIVE!: Get The Sillies Out! tour will visit more than 50 cities across the U.S. in 2013.

If you can’t join me and my family on Sunday, February 10th in NJ, make sure to check for other shows near you. This tour just started, so there are plenty of dates to Get the Sillies Out! with DJ Lance Rock and his freaking adorable pals Muno, Foofa, Brobee, Toodee and Plex.

full disclosure: I received compensation in the form of tickets for my family to attend the show.  Make sure to check out details and other posts about the show.

About That Unique* Weblog

Adjusting to the car culture, dealing with leaving a career I love, and spouting off along the way.
This entry was posted in event, People do silly things and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to I can’t wait to Shake Out the Sillies with Foofa and Plex

  1. Have a great time! A few years ago Nathan LOVED that show. He was mesmerized by it and it was on at the perfect time to give me a break in our afternoon.

  2. anna says:

    My three year old is hoplessly hooked on this show, and luckily I’m a fan as well. I Googled DJ Lance Rock, and he has – not surprisingly – a cool backstory and absolutely no prior experience with children or education.

    • I looked him up when the show first started. Such a great sport – and I love that he’s so cool about the show. Reminds me of the first Blue’s Clues host. So OK with it – as they both should be!

  3. Emily says:

    ooooo i’m so jealous. my name’s emily! i like to dance! i wish tickets weren’t so expensive. have fun!!!!

  4. Have fun! I think I’ll be sitting this one out 😉

  5. I cannot put into words how jealous I am. Me. Not my kids- ME. I love YGG!!!!

  6. We were there! It was SO fun! (And the Sangria was quite yummy in my tummy)

Leave a Reply

