Still Time to Be a Reader Recruiter for World Book Night

World Book Night Logo 2013I love giving books to people. They are a go-to for birthday gifts, a way to share something you learned with someone else (hand-written notes and all), companions in good times and bad, escapes from the humdrum or hustle of life – all that good stuff.

Last year I gave away twenty copies of The Things They Carried as a part of World Book Night. The guidelines ask that “Givers” choose people who are non-readers or reluctant-readers, but it’s tough to know who fits into those categories. So I asked. I asked people at the ShopRite, I asked my neighbors, I asked at my children’s preschool, I asked people drinking coffee without a newspaper, and so on.  And it worked! People were thrilled to receive a free book, and hopefully having a book in hand – with no pressure to read – encouraged them to read it.

This year the registration for World Book Night has been extended, which means YOU can still apply to be a “Book Giver” for 2013.  Apply here: I want to give books!

World Book Night Books 2013Check out the books to choose from here: Awesome 2013 WBN Book List!

If I remember correctly, I think I requested The Phantom Tollbooth, Me Talk Pretty One Day, and The Handmaid’s Tale. But now I can’t remember – and there are so many great books. Maybe I requested Fahrenheit 451 or Salvage the Bones. I loved Bossypants too, and The House on Mango Street is just lovely.

My area doesn’t actually need more book givers – last year my local bookstore was filled with boxes for World Book Night Givers to hand out all over Essex County. But there are plenty of places, especially in areas that don’t have independent bookstores – or a bookstore at all – so I hope you’ll join in the fun!

Need more encouragement? See last year’s post on Baristanet and my post on this blog last year.

About That Unique* Weblog

Adjusting to the car culture, dealing with leaving a career I love, and spouting off along the way.
This entry was posted in People are Good, Things I love, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Still Time to Be a Reader Recruiter for World Book Night

  1. outlawmama says:

    Coolest thing ever. Chills.

  2. Kristin says:

    Highly considering this. Thanks for the info. Could I work with my neighborhood Baltimore city school to give out books?

    • The books are meant to be specifically for reluctant or non-readers – and I believe the recipients need to be at least 16 years old. I was going to work with my local high school and a team or group of kids. I think that if that works for the school, it would be great! Other options can be a shelter, the YMCA, a youth or community group, a religious organization, and so on. Definitely apply!

  3. Pingback: Giving it Away for Free: Books | This Weblog is Unique. Just Like They All Are.

Leave a Reply

