Glad I Saw It: Books at Their Fingertips

"You have 15 minutes to play."My kids are pretty darn awesome – some of the time.

But you’d think from the amount of growled “Get your coat on!” and hissed “Stop hitting each other…” and exasperated thumps of my head hitting the table once a meal has dragged on for over an hour of “Just eat your dinners. Please!” that my kids were the most difficult and incorrigible urchins this side of the Hudson River.

They’re not. It’s not them, it’s me. But it’s partly them. They know how to make me completely nutso with their antics.

And then I see stuff like this – close to a dozen books open, being read by my cherubs with vigor and vim – when they had been told they had 15 minutes to play before we start out on our day – and I make a brand new resolution to never ever yell at them again. (And that lasts about a half-a-day.)

Just one more reason that Libraries and having books in the home is so important. I’d add that it’s super important to let your kids see you reading REAL books, even if you prefer a device these days. The joy of flipping pages and inspecting pictures for details is something I hope never disappears.

Want to help kids get books into their homes? I like First Book and The Pajama Program and Reading is Fundamental.

About That Unique* Weblog

Adjusting to the car culture, dealing with leaving a career I love, and spouting off along the way.
This entry was posted in Glad I Saw It, Parenthood, Things I love and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Glad I Saw It: Books at Their Fingertips

  1. ah *real* books. I’ve heard of those…one of the significant downsides of our lives as expats here is…NO LIBRARY. So I either truck to the (not so great) bookstore or “download.” And download just isn’t as much fun or as satisfying. Curl up on the couch with…a small hard tablet? Meh…
    Love this picture!

    • It’s difficult to remember that libraries are not something to be taken for granted. Just one more reason to feel lucky for what we have. Does the expat community do exchanges? And do the schools have libraries? Oh! How you’ve sparked questions in my mind now!

      Thank you for stopping in to say howdy-doo!

  2. outlawmama says:

    This makes me so happy. Books for everyone.

  3. There really is something about books. I am glad your kids appreciate them 🙂 This house too- although hubs and I are getting more and more into the Kindle. I don’t want that to warp their perception of books- you know? Being ‘just another device’.

    • I tried to read on a device, but it just doesn’t work for me. I still have to print out things that I need to take a truly close read to. I just *see* more. My husband – who is in publishing – loves his eReaders. And his book-books.

  4. I love this! I still prefer real books to ereaders. I like the way they feel and smell. I like to flip back if I need to. I’m sad that so many bookstores are closing and I’m worried that I’ll be forced onto a reader at some point. I wish my kids read more. They are more taken with video games than books 😦

    • The flipping back is part of what I love. And reading the end – YES! I’m one of those skippers. Our independent book stores seem to be doing well, but it’s so much work for the owners – and constant stress. They are GREAT with recs, however. Spot on every time.

  5. anna says:

    Love this pic. My kids are all readers, and we just got the 9 year old a Kindle which I hope I don’t grow to regret. I read everything old-school, though that’s not saying much because most of my reading these days is of blogs online 🙂

    • I think readers will be what they are used to, but similar to learning the skill of writing, I think that they should LEARN to read on paper. And learn to LOVE reading with the tactile joy. It’ll last longer. 🙂

  6. Masala Chica says:

    I am such a reader. I loved the magic of story time at the library and summer reading lists. I was such a nerd that I played hookey to go to the library. Seriously? My kids are surrounded by books. At Christmas time, it’s the one thing I feel like we can splurge on – I try not to spoil them with too many other things. And I am glad – they see me passionately reading and writing and I feel like it’s rubbing off on them. So glad you posted this. So important for us to expose our children to the fantastic world of books.
    Kiran

    • Thank you for saying so, Kiran. I do love books – and it’s a thrill when my kids want more and more. Admittedly, sometimes I’m truly too tired to read “just one more” before bedtime, but most times I can squeeze out the energy to read another chapter of Pippi or the Magic Tree House. 🙂 Thank you for stopping in!

Leave a Reply

