Resolved: Less is More

Dunkin Donuts new year's resolutionsNew Year’s Resolutions have never lasted too long for me, but that’s human nature in many ways, I think. I hope.

I try, I really do. I try to shriek less at the kids. I try to clean the bathroom more thoroughly. I try to cook more and rely less on processed food. I try to fit into those pants I bought as inspiration. I try to watch less TV and play more board games. I try to write more for myself. And then I hear a creaky voice in my head: Do. Or Do Not. There is No Try. And, lacking the motivation of Luke Skywalker, I allow – perhaps encourage – things fall to the side of Do Not.

Simplicity is the key to success in so many things. And this poster that adorns the half-wall next to the cashier’s counter at the Valley Road Dunkin’ Donuts breaks it down into More and Less. The trick is keeping the More and Less assignments where they belong. My best wish for all of us is good luck with that. Really good luck with that.

About That Unique* Weblog

Adjusting to the car culture, dealing with leaving a career I love, and spouting off along the way.
This entry was posted in People are Good, People do silly things and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Resolved: Less is More

  1. I’ve only kept 1 new year’s resolution. It was 2 years ago and it was to stay out of a parenting chat forum that had gotten nasty since going anon. I couldn’t get over how awful some women were to each other- I found it leaving a dark cloud over my head to read the things moms were saying to one another. Anyhow- at last I had had enough. Not sure why it took me so long, but I said I will never go back and read this awfulness- and I didn’t. I have to make resolutions that are tangible for me. This year- it’s simply to make the most of our experience. Enjoy it. Savor it. It will be over before I know it.

  2. I quit making New Year’s resolutions years ago. All they do is make me feel like a failure. Anyway, we don’t grow in leaps and bounds all at once. I just let myself grow naturally, a little bit at a time. It works for me.

    • Sounds good! I think that resolutions at any time of the year only work when we have truly gotten to a point of change – and that only happens organically or in times of great emergency. Thanks for stopping in!

  3. iasoupmama says:

    My only resolution this year is to survive. Happy New Year!

  4. Love that! Good luck. It’s so easy to fall back into our old habit. I love that Yoda quote 🙂

Leave a Reply

