Kiddie Jeep Test Drive aka The Joy of Future Ulcers

Joy for them. Fast-forward nightmares for me.

Joy for them. Fast-forward nightmares for me.

Before the day of this photo, my kids have only ever ridden in a gravity-powered version of this kiddie-jeep. At our last block party, they sped down the hill shrieking – and guarded jealously by the older kids – in glee. This battery-powered contraption was a whole different sort of thrill. Over Thanksgiving, both kids got a chance to drive the two jeeps belonging to my in-laws’ neighbors. And Wow. I could almost see the sense of confidence and power wash over them as they realized that pushing a foot down made the car GO. If was fun watching them zip (okay, putt) around the deserted street. But boy has the pit in my stomach started to nestle in and grow as I picture them getting behind the wheel of a car in just over a decade.

Parenthood is pain. Don’t argue with me on that one.

This post is linking up with #iPPP with G*funkified!

About That Unique* Weblog

Adjusting to the car culture, dealing with leaving a career I love, and spouting off along the way.
This entry was posted in Parenthood, random observation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Kiddie Jeep Test Drive aka The Joy of Future Ulcers

  1. gfunkified says:

    Oh gosh, I can almost feel that pit in the stomach. I had a similar feeling this morning when I got a glimpse of my daughter as a teenager. YIKES

  2. Kerstin says:

    My daughter will be starting to drive next yeah (*Panic). The only way I’m gonna be OK with that if the vehicle is something like the one your kids are driving in that picture πŸ˜‰

  3. I love this picture! I personally cannot foresee the day when the 3 boys hop into a car together and speed off. Omg. Nope. Not happening here.

  4. I won’t argue with you. I have an 11 year old girl who’s suddenly changing who’s causing me pain every day.

  5. While taking groceries out of the car, my son unbuckled himself out of the car seat and plopped in front of the steering wheel. He was making the break squeals and honking the horn and speed noises…I hope that he actually doesn’t drive that way when he’s older. Lord help me.

  6. That is a great shot. And I couldn’t agree more: Parenthood IS pain.

    P.S. My oldest will be driving in 2 1/2 years. Yikes!

  7. Christine says:

    Great picture!
    I hear you on the agita, though. A big part of why I put up with some of the inconveniences of living in Brooklyn is that I’m hoping it delays my kids’s desire/need to drive. Like until they’re out of college, maybe?

    • Absolutely. That was one of my big fears about moving out of Brooklyn – the suburban driving culture (for me and for them!). But I know, from my students, that it’s a trade-off in other cuckoo behavior. Sigh.

  8. Hayley says:

    I love the photo! I do not love imagining my toddler driving a real vehicle. Sometimes, my breath is taken away by these thoughts and I have to fight to stay present. I look down at my feet. πŸ™‚

  9. mamamash says:

    Yeah, that thought makes me want to vomit. And up my insurance. (On the other hand, how cute are they? All independent and self-propelled.)

  10. We had the wrangler version. It’s still in our garage but 9 yo don’t fit very well. It is a scary (but fun) toy!

  11. Whaddaya mean drive in a decade? They stay 2 forever, right? RIGHT?!?! *lie to me*… Those smiles are just precious, but OOOOH, the heartache!!

Leave a Reply

