Kudos > Rants: Elementary School Teacher Edition

I had a super clever rant about the dog crap we’ve found in our yard lately. Everyone except my son has stepped in it or dragged the lawn mower through it or raked it in the last two weeks. Then I thought, well, it’s gross, but not life threatening. So, I thought of loads of passive-aggressive statements about the four speeders in a ten minute span who used my block as a cut-through to beat the light. Congrats! You won an extra 30 seconds off your travel time! 

But then I volunteered in my son’s classroom for the second time this year, and I remembered a few things that are better-than-good. The first is that kids are freaking cute. And that’s good. Another is that elementary school teachers are so much stronger than high school teachers. And I can tell you, we cynical, sarcastic, see-teenagers-all-day high school folk sometimes have a rose-colored view as to what elementary teachers deal with all day. After just one hour – an hour in which I didn’t have to get the class to calm down because the teacher did it – I was exhausted!

I had always thought that elementary school teachers have it easy because they didn’t have to bring home 150+ essays to grade over the weekend, and they didn’t have to plan lessons about Fahrenheit 451 that touched on all the desired “action goals” of the school instead of just enjoying the literature and discussing its relevance in today’s society. But man, as fun as “making hand print turkeys” sounded – and it was fun! – I couldn’t do activities like that every day. Nor could I stand to prepare for it and research activities that address gross motor skills and other developmental goals of a class of 24 widely-varied-in-skills children. So kudos to the elementary school teachers. You folks are amazing!

About That Unique* Weblog

Adjusting to car culture, dealing with leaving a career I loved, and spouting off along the way. #RESIST
This entry was posted in Excellent Local People, Parenthood, People are Good, random observation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Kudos > Rants: Elementary School Teacher Edition

  1. How do you have time to volunteer and edit and write and teach? holy crap, woman.

  2. Apparently, 600+ people break a limb every year from slipping on dog poop in France.

  3. This is by no means even somewhat similar– and being a former high school teacher I frequently think of my life in this form– but with 3 little boys age preschool and below I am feeling more and more like I am running a kindergarten class but here no one cares. Try to do a project? psshhht. Ain’t happening. And it’s not like I can call mom!

  4. I used to volunteer in my kids’ classrooms at Edgemont School when they were were young. I had a blast working on different projects with the kids, but I came home exhausted every time. Elementary school teachers here in Montclair, NJ who can keep 24 kids all moving in the same direction and actually learning while doing so rock, in my opinion.

  5. Azara says:

    Every time I visit my daughter’s daycare I feel amazed at how they manage all those small children – not just keep them (relatively) clean and fed, but actually teach them things too. She certainly learns more when she’s at daycare than when she’s at home with me.

  6. Robbie says:

    I taught pre-k for more than a decade and love to volunteer in my kids classrooms when the opportunity presents itself but I wouldn’t last 10 minutes in a high school classroom. I remember volunteering in the 2nd grade class and feeling a bit useless–they were so freaking independent compared to the 3-5 year olds I was use to.

Leave a Reply

