Lazy Mom’s Science Experiment: Foaming Dragon

Back in September, when my son first started Kindergarten, he insisted on doing some kind of experiment or project when he came home from school. Every single day. This was one of the first, when I still had that “Start of the School Year” energy.

It was fun to gather the items we needed (even years-old apple cider vinegar – which I wouldn’t recommend for this experiment), set up, and create the “dragon” – even if the resulting “foaming at the mouth” effect was a little disappointing.  The directions come from a fantastic little book from Usborne Books: 50 Science Things to Make and Do. I highly recommend it for easy-to-follow and fun experiments.

Showing this to you will reveal not only my BAD MOMMY moment (at 45 seconds in) of terrifying my younger child, as well as my issues with messes – but I’m trying to get over that. (Not the scaring my toddler issue; that’s too much fun.) I have no problem with dust, of course. Just foaming dragon messes.  Enjoy!

About That Unique* Weblog

Adjusting to the car culture, dealing with leaving a career I love, and spouting off along the way.
This entry was posted in Lazy Mom, Parenthood, People do silly things, Things I love and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Lazy Mom’s Science Experiment: Foaming Dragon

  1. anna says:

    well, at least you have the most excellent video to show at her wedding now!!

  2. Ginny Marie says:

    Oh, that was such a cute video! That book looks great…I think I just might have to buy it for Christmas for a certain 5 year old at my house!

  3. Bee says:

    Awesome! I love that your son’s dressed as Spiderman!!! I may have to get this book myself and do some of the projects, and I don’t even have kids! 😀

  4. Oh my this was funny. I can imagine doing this- B loving it, C crying hysterically and L possibly trying to drink the concoction or spill it all over the place. Bravo mama!

Leave a Reply

