Glow-in-the-Dark Puppetry for the Kids

The Mermaid Theatre of Nova Scotia explains how the show works.

This past weekend, my family visited Symphony Space for the first time with the kids. We had heard wonderful things about the Mermaid Theatre of Nova Scotia perform Treasured Stories by Eric Carle. It’s a gorgeous glow-in-the-dark puppet show that entranced both of my children. Before the show, thanks to Just Kidding at Symphony Space, we got a chance to go back stage and get a close-up view of the puppets and talk with the puppeteers. We got to try out the caterpillar, hug the frog, and make the Papa’s arms and legs move.

My favorite story of the three was The Very Hungry Caterpillar, but my four-year-old loved seeing the array of animals parade by in Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do you See? Before the performance, I hadn’t been familiar with the third story they performed, Papa, Please Get the Moon for Me. It will definitely become one of our bedtime stories now; it’s a sweet story that even works the phases of the moon into the storyline. I’ll admit that by half-way through the end of the show, I was feeling very calm and sleepy – the complete darkness and the calming story almost did me in. My daughter was awe-struck the entire time, but she sleeps a solid ten hours a night.

We had a demonstration of how the puppets work!

If you have a chance to see the MTNS, I highly recommend it. They tour much of the year; you can find the schedule at their website. The puppeteers answer questions after the show, and the director also answers questions in the lobby as families leave.

The Mermaid Theatre of Nova Scotia is just one of the amazing shows brought to Symphony Space Kids programs. Check out the entire season’s offerings of children’s music, dance, and shows here. You can also keep up with events for the space on the Just Kidding at Symphony Space Facebook page.

Check out the slideshow for more shots of the puppets. I also have a video up from the Q&A after the show. You can read more about Just Kidding at Symphony Space and their upcoming programs in my Barista Kids post.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About That Unique* Weblog

Adjusting to the car culture, dealing with leaving a career I love, and spouting off along the way.
This entry was posted in Parenthood, random observation, Review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Glow-in-the-Dark Puppetry for the Kids

  1. I love Eric Carle. Brown Bear, Brown Bear. My now 19 year old when through about three copies. They literally fell apart. He took them everywhere. (and that was just last year.) ha.

  2. argh….this post makes me miss New York!! There simply aren’t these sorts of options out here & it bums me out. I think it’s so important for kids to experience the magic of theater, at any level. (If you think your kids are up to it, see if the Metropolitan Opera is doing any kid-friendly opera over the holidays–the pre-show workshops are great, and the performances are magical. Seriously!)

  3. Azara says:

    What a cool show for kids! I’ll have to write this down to remember for next year. I think my daughter’s a little young for it still.

    • They travel during the year. You can follow the Mermaid Theatre on Twitter or through their website. The theatre does get VERY dark. And one child screamed bloody murder when the house lights first went down.

Leave a Reply

