Being a Princess is Not a Career Choice

I’m not a regular reader of any of the big old sites like Jezebel, Gawker, Huffington Post, and so on. But every so often I wish I paid more attention to them. I received this post from Jezebel in my mailbox, and I can’t help it, I have to share the video it included.

While there are some people who will point out that princesses these days actually do have careers, you get the idea. And hello? A Supreme Court Justice on Sesame Street. Yes!

 

About That Unique* Weblog

Adjusting to the car culture, dealing with leaving a career I love, and spouting off along the way.
This entry was posted in Parenthood, People are Good, random observation and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Being a Princess is Not a Career Choice

  1. It’s NOT a career choice? Dammit. But that does explain why my application to the Princess Fund keeps coming back with “not at this address” stamped on it. And…at the risk of being thought woefully shallow, I have to say I have some sartorial second thoughts about that lace jabot thing that Sonia S. is wearing. I know, I know, she’s brilliant and a role model but it just looks a lot like a ruffly bib. Why not just go all Liz the First and wear, you know, a ruff?

    • Personally, I think she looks lovely. 😉

      Also, I don’t want to denigrate the efforts that members of royalty make – I do think they have a place, and princesses and princes and their humanitarian and public actions are definitely appreciated. But what children learn about Princesses is that they twirl and curtsey and sing to birds.

      I just saw Wonder Women! yesterday – a doc about how female superheroes are created and perceived. I’ll post on it this week. It’s what prompted me to post this.

  2. I tell my daughter that being a princess should only ever be a second career – her first career can be anything she wants it to be – doctor, lawyer, Supreme Court justice! Who wants to be rescued, when she can do the actual rescuing!

  3. Jen says:

    I saw it this morning on Sesame Street — the little music video that followed about changing the world was also priceless 🙂

  4. Cecily says:

    For what it’s worth, I don’t think Sonia Sotomayor is the first to wear the lace jabot thing. I seem to remember Ruth Bader Ginsburg and Sandra Day O’Connor wearing one as well. Don’t hate the player, hate the game… or do the young ‘uns still say that these days?

  5. Love this! My daughter is learning about the Supreme Court and loved seeing one of the justices on Sesame Street! thanks for sharing this.

  6. Robbie says:

    thanks for sharing this. AT nine, my daughter is already full of opinions. She hopes her daughter doesn’t want to dress up as a Disney princess for Halloween. As she said, “we just arent’ princess people, Momma.”

    • I’m not either, but my daughter loves princesses. She was Tiana from Princess and the Frog and it made her very happy. I’ve tried to focus on reclaiming it rather than denigrating it. Don’t know if it’s working!

  7. Kianwi says:

    Oh, I loved that. My niece is so into princesses that her very non-princessy mom is worried about her. I have no idea if it will be bad for her in the future, but I do know my sister-in-law will appreciate this video 🙂

  8. Azara says:

    Awesome video. My daughter shows every sign of following in my tomboy/warrior princess ways rather than the girly kind, so I don’t worry too much about that yet, but it’s good to know there are videos like this out there if I need to do some “reclaiming,” as you said.

    • Yeah – I’ve often questioned whether I should try influence her more, but I’ve decided to hold off. If I don’t mind that my son likes fairies and princesses, I shouldn’t mind that my daughter does.

Leave a Reply

