Glad I Saw It: Post-Sandy Produce

It wasn’t quite Manna from Heaven, but when I went out on November 1st to start cutting back the garden, I found a perfect yellow pepper and a ripe tomato.  Considering that I had cut up all our peppers as preparation for Hurricane Sandy, only to discover that cut produce can’t be saved in unrefrigerated warmth without bacterial build-up, I was thrilled to find these beauties. We were worried that the tomato would mealy and the pepper would be tasteless, but both were wonderful treats for a veggie-starved family. Aren’t they gorgeous?

About That Unique* Weblog

Adjusting to the car culture, dealing with leaving a career I love, and spouting off along the way.
This entry was posted in random observation, Suburban Life, Things I love and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Glad I Saw It: Post-Sandy Produce

  1. That must have been frustrating to lose your pepper crop without refrigeration. I hope you have many more pleasant surprises like these!

  2. Robbie says:

    I love a tomato fresh from the garden…with a little garlic salt and pepper. Glad you found a little bit of sunshine.

  3. Dana Staves says:

    Awesome! And I’m jealous. 🙂

  4. Beautiful pictures and YES! I dunno about you, but after a week of mainly eating pasta, I was craving veggies in the worst way. There’s nothing like fresh vegetables from your own garden patch. Glad to hear they (and you!) survived Sandy!!

    Also, how neat to read about the Chai Truck! Will have to text next time I’m in Montclair 🙂

  5. dberonilla says:

    Oh wow. What a treat to find those there! I can’t even imagine how much better they must have tasted after not having much fresh produce!

  6. anna says:

    so, so cool. our garden is caput for the season.

Leave a Reply

