Glad I Saw It: Squash and Gourds

at Hillcrest Farms in Verona, NJ

On Saturday, I took my mom and my kids to the Montclair Farmer’s Market, and we bought delicious cheeses, some disappointingly tasteless (but cute and stubby) carrots, some amazing radishes, and leeks that made a great pot of soup even better.  Oh, and honey sticks. We can’t leave without honey sticks!

We saw a few pumpkins, but nothing particularly perfect. And my mom HAD to buy the kids pumpkins. You know, Bucket List and all. So we drove up Claremont and onto Bloomfield Avenue because I knew there was something up here.  Hillcrest Farms & Greenhouse was it.  I pulled in and we checked out the goats and sheep in the parking lot (in pens, but right there), and then we picked out three great pumpkins in about two minutes. We were tempted by the lovely squash and gourds and colorful mums. In fact, we came home with a mum from my mom. Ha! And ps: not to take away from the farmer’s market, but our three pumpkins were less expensive than any one of the pumpkins for sale there.

That said, there were no Squash Swans at Hillcrest. They were only seen at the Montclair Farmer’s Market. 

About That Unique* Weblog

Adjusting to the car culture, dealing with leaving a career I love, and spouting off along the way.
This entry was posted in Glad I Saw It, Parenthood, random observation, Suburban Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Glad I Saw It: Squash and Gourds

  1. I have *never* seen a more funky looking gourd! Love them. Nothing says fall like some funky veggies.

    • That Unique* Weblog says:

      My kids were wild with excitement at the swans. And thankfully I hadn’t yet bought the honey sticks, so I was able to pull the “Well, okay. We can get the squash swans, but only if you don’t get a honey stick.” Done and done.

Leave a Reply

