On the Road: Strap ‘Em Down!*

Pets in the Car

This gorgeous guy was one of three dogs in the car. Two in the back, one in the front.

Did you know that in New Jersey dogs have to be buckled up when they are in a car?  No, really! It must be true; I read it on the Internets.  So now New Jersey is the only state where letting your pets roam free while you drive them around is a violation carrying the possibility of a ticket that can cost you between $250 and $1,000 and as much as six months in jail. A few other states will fine you if the pet is right in your lap – I read that on the Internet, too.

The regulations are meant to keep not only the animals safe, but also others on the road.  I mean, I don’t know about you, but if my preschoolers were roaming free in the backseat, I can just imagine the havoc that their antics would cause.  (Did I just compare my kids to pets? Why, yes I did! ~ beatcha to it.)

Anyway, dogs in cars are awesome. They entertain my pets kids, and they make for great imagery in commercials. But keep us all just a little less entertained and a lot more safe on the road – strap ’em down!*

*Not a 50 Shades of Grey reference.

About That Unique* Weblog

Adjusting to the car culture, dealing with leaving a career I love, and spouting off along the way.
This entry was posted in random observation and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to On the Road: Strap ‘Em Down!*

  1. 50peach says:

    So many 50 Shades references, so little time. 😉

    Oh, Jersey, Jersey, Jersey. While I do agree with this strap em down law, I’ve been witness to far greater commuter crimes there. Ahem… suits smoking weed in Lincoln Tunnel traffic? Check. Live pigeons running rampant in the airport terminal? Check. Oh wait…. that’s just funny as hell. Say hi to Montclair for me!

    • It’s true – lots of fun things that people think up to do when they should be paying attention. I think that most of these regulations come from a tragedy or situation that couldn’t be “punished” because there wasn’t any specific law to govern it. It’s the opposite of the Nanny State causing the Nanny State. (But I usually agree with the Nanny State. There! I said it.)

Leave a Reply

