Glad I Saw It: Preschoolers Reading

Children Reading

This brings tears to my eyes.

It’s a good thing my kids love books. With an English teacher mother and a book editor father, they’d be miserable otherwise.  And even though I’ve relied (sometimes heavily!) on the television to save my sanity in these early years, something must have rubbed off on them.  My son has always craved (and chewed on) books, and my daughter has loved “telling” us books ever since she could put two words together.

And while we love Watchung Booksellers enough to attempt a sleepover, it’s not the only independent bookstore in town.  The Montclair Book Center has a very different vibe, and they’ve bravely settled their Children’s Section in the middle of cookbooks, art books, and self-help books. It has a great children’s selection to boot.  In fact, while the kids were perusing the kids’ books, I was taking a look at the used Science Fiction section nearby, and my husband came back a few art books. They’ve also got a great selection of crossword books – every possible level of New York Times puzzles.

Stop by the Montclair Book Center at 221 Glenridge Avenue, just off of Bloomfield Avenue in Montclair.

About That Unique* Weblog

Adjusting to the car culture, dealing with leaving a career I love, and spouting off along the way.
This entry was posted in Glad I Saw It, Parenthood, Things I love and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Glad I Saw It: Preschoolers Reading

  1. Lenore Diane says:

    I’m glad you saw these kids reading, too. School ended for Joe and Charlie the last week in May. I’ve seen both boys grab books (all on their own accord) and read for 30 minutes or more. Makes a mamma proud.

  2. I worked at MBC for 5+ years, up until I got my full-time gig at MSU last July. Still my favorite place, even if they don’t pay me anymore haha.

  3. TheJackB says:

    If my kids didn’t like books I would have to check their DNA. That is one thing the family has always loved and I am grateful for it. What would we do without books.

Leave a Reply

