Weed Wars: A New Hope

zinnias

A gift from a friend.

If it weren’t for my husband, I’d probably be wading through weeds and crabgrass to get to the recycling cans.  Wait, is crabgrass a weed?  So, weeds.

A little love from the previous owner.

As I’ve mentioned a few times, the previous owner of our lovely home had a very green thumb.  And time and passion for gardening.  She even left us a large folder with a gardening map and lists of what was planted and how to care for it.  It’s still in a plastic rolling cube under the little table in the kitchen.  It’s dusty.

So, for two and a half years, we’ve done a little here and a little there – but mostly we’ve enjoyed the flowers of her labor including azaleas, decorative grasses, those cut heart-shaped flowers, irises, peonies.  I’ve found some more interesting than beautiful plants, too. And when we lost one of the trees, I swore that I would use that newly sun-filled space plant some veggies because I’ve heard that if kids grow them, they’ll eat them.  Right?

The compost I’ve been “saving” for two years!

Well, this past weekend we actually went out and did it! Or my husband did. We installed a pseudo-raised garden, added good soil, planted some seedlings, added a bunch of two-year-old mulch, let the kids help out a little to develop a feeling of ownership, and then mulched.  Apparently, mulch helps weeds shrivel and DIE. I always thought it was just to make planted beds pretty and smelly.  I guess there’s a utilitarian purpose.

The rain of last night and today will hopefully help and not drown the newly planted veggies and flowers.  We have red and yellow sweet peppers, tomatoes, eggplant, hot peppers, and zinnias going on.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About That Unique* Weblog

Adjusting to the car culture, dealing with leaving a career I love, and spouting off along the way.
This entry was posted in random observation, Suburban Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Weed Wars: A New Hope

  1. Congrats on getting your garden started! It’s a blast to have the kids help out…just wait until they find a caterpillar or bug when they’re helping you harvest! Squeals! Excitement!

  2. Vanessa says:

    The pink flowers are Bleeding Hearts, if they were white they’d be Dutchman’s Breeches. I know this only because I sell them, not because I have a nice yard. Raised beds are supposed to be much easier. Some day I might even get around to it in my yard, I even have my lumber bought and taking up space on the deck.

  3. Lenore Diane says:

    Great job, KD. The previous owner of this house had a fantastic yard. The grass was beautiful, and there were stepping stones. 10 yrs, 3 dogs, and 2 kids later, this place is a far cry from the original. I fear her stopping by, seeing her former yard, and crying.
    I’m glad you guys are digging in the dirt.

  4. Anna says:

    Oh I would love to see your garden map. Sounds like a treasure map, with flowers as the buried treasure!

Leave a Reply

