Get Connected with Health Love & Soul in Montclair

Enter and enjoy.

I’m a somewhat lapsed vegetarian turned pescatarian (is that really a thing?) now that I’m a parent and spouse to omnivores.  With two young children, convenience is high on my priority list.  Sorry, true believers – sincerely I am sorry – but it’s true.  So when I can get vegetarian convenience coupled with another one of my priorities, money (as in keeping most of my cash on me!), I get excited. For that reason, and many more, Health Love Soul Juice Bar and Grill at 387 Bloomfield Avenue in Montclair is an exciting place.

The last time I was there was on a lunch date with my husband, and he really enjoyed it too. It’s not just me!  I’ve had several different meals at HLS now, and the food has always been stellar.  My companions have usually eaten actual fish, turkey, and chicken.  I have tried several of the vegetarian options, including my favorite so far, the Soy Thai Chic’n wrap for $6.95.

Soy Citrus Spareribs - one of the brown rice dishes. So good!

As exciting as the food is (I’m writing this just before lunch, by the way), the drinks are even more impressive.  The green kale drinks are especially delicious. I’ve tried Green Dream and Vitamin Awesome, and I’m hoping to try their sweetness (added by apple and carrot) out on my kids.  I’ve also tried the Spicy Icy – perfect for ginger lovers! And I snuck a few sips of a friend’s Pineapple Mango Tango (shhh!), and boy was that good too.  The small size is plenty, but once the weather gets hotter, the large will be great for a downtown walkabout.

A delicious wrap with sweet potato fries.

Can you tell I’m a little excited about the menu at HLS (pdf) on Bloomfield Avenue in Montclair?  Well, my enthusiasm was recently bolstered when I looked past the vegetarian options to see a Kids Menu section.  PB&J, PB&Banana, veggie chicken nuggets, or a grilled cheese are not only affordable at $4 and $5, but they are safe options for broken-by-arguing-about-supposedly-adult-food parents with picky kids.

And as though it couldn’t get better, HLS is local – it started in Maplewood and then expanded to Montclair – and has a compassionate and health-oriented outlook towards the food they serve.

from the website: HLS is tailored fit to today’s times where many are conscious of what they eat and conservative about how much they spend. It is a space where mother groups meet weekly and friends meet nightly. A friendly face behind the counter greets a regular by name and knows her order by heart.

Our mission is to prove that foods and beverages can be delicious and fun without sacrificing nutrition or principles. We strive to be the destination of choice for selective meat eaters and vegetarians alike by offering a menu that caters equally to both.  We pride ourselves on bringing diverse groups together in one warm and welcoming environment.  HLS: Many choices. One love.

– Arinze and Emeka, Proud owners of HLS

The good food and made-to-order drinks can sometimes take a while, so keep that in mind if you’re in a hurry or have the kids.  Sometimes drinks have arrived so quickly I’ve barely sat down.  Either way, there is lots of great art on the walls to keep you company.

Oh, one more thing: They have WiFi!

About That Unique* Weblog

Adjusting to the car culture, dealing with leaving a career I love, and spouting off along the way.
This entry was posted in Excellent Local People, People are Good, random observation, Restaurant, Review, Things I love and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Get Connected with Health Love & Soul in Montclair

  1. Fish are vegetables. I totally read that somewhere.

    I will put this on my list of stops the next time we drive to NYC.

  2. Jenn says:

    I like this place a lot. The “Good Day” shake is my favorite, although it’s usually a long wait for it to come out. Also, the one time I took my guy there, he ordered a chicken dish and they gave him the soy chicken instead (he can’t have soy), so he won’t go there again. I’m on my own!

    • Oh yeah – that would be bad if there’s a soy allergy. I’ll have to try the Good Day shake. It sounds like it’s a breakfast MEAL. I’m more about making my drinks into veggies right now. Kale on the brain.

      My husband got the salmon wrap and really loved it. A friend got the Thai Chicken (actual chicken) and said it was great!

      • Jenn says:

        The Good Day IS a meal. I get it without the cane syrup.

        Kale is awesome. I eat raw food only, so kale chips are a staple snack at home. Every morning for breakfast I drink a green shake with spinach, fruit, and raw almond milk I make every other day or so. Go green veggies!

  3. Lottie Nevin says:

    I share your enthusiasm for places such as these, I’m an absolute sucker for them in fact!
    If it wasn’t for the fact that my husband is such a carnivore, I would happily be vegetarian, but
    I’m damned if I’m going to make loads of different meals just to suit our different tastes.
    Anyway a great juice that I make is apple,carrot, orange and ginger. It’s a winner! the more fresh ginger the better.

    • Oh that juice sounds great! I used to have a juicer, but I was pretty uncreative with it. And it was a tough one to clean. I sold it at a tag sale for $20 and both the buyer and I felt that we did well. 🙂

      • Lottie Nevin says:

        I’m afraid that is the real bummer with the juicing malarky, not only do you need a ton of fruit, etc but the thing takes hours to clean afterwards. What extra years you might gain in longevity from drinking the wholesome, vitamin packed, fresh juice, you equally spend cleaning out the damn machine! I think juicers, along with exercise bikes, and pasta making machines are all destined for the same fate….but, do try the juice sometime, just make sure that it’s some other poor bugger that has to clean the machine, not you!

  4. Anna says:

    sounds amazing, and did i read correctly i also have it in my maple-hood? must look it up!

  5. Rachel says:

    Someday do we get to read about why you’re a vegetarian? I’ve always wondered. Is it too controversial for the blog?

Leave a Reply

