Glad I Saw It: Local Honey and Eggs

Honey with nuts, eggs, and honey sticks.

This past Saturday proved to be a busy day at the Montclair Farmer’s Market.  When we arrived, there were six vendors and farms represented, and many locals were taking advantage of the mild weather.

Apple Honey Sticks!

 

 

 

We picked up some apples, vegetables, and even some dried strawberries.  But what I loved seeing were the nuts in honey.  It reminded me of driving through Las Alpujarras in Spain. There were always various road-side stands with honey and nuts.  So delicious!

We also picked up some free range eggs that had just been collected that morning.  

Aren’t they gorgeous?  It makes such a difference when eggs are fresh and collected from happy chickens.  Most of the people selling food there said they’d be back every Saturday as long as the weather was good.  Baristanet also paid a visit to the winter farmer’s market a couple of weeks ago.

 

About That Unique* Weblog

Adjusting to the car culture, dealing with leaving a career I love, and spouting off along the way.
This entry was posted in Glad I Saw It, People are Good, Suburban Life, Things I love and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Glad I Saw It: Local Honey and Eggs

  1. I LOVE those eggs – so pretty. I took the girls to Tassot Apiaries at the end of the summer. We had a great visit there – the highlight was collecting eggs from the chickens!

  2. Thanks for the shout out!

  3. farrah says:

    I want those eggs. I always get to our Saturday market too late (go figure) and all the good stuff is gone 😦

  4. Anna says:

    i didn’t know you had a farmer’s market in this season, must go check it out! growing up we had backyard chickens, and i so loved going to get the eggs in the mornings.

  5. Rachel says:

    Well, there are 2 spare bedrooms (Sophia never sleeps in hers so I count it as a guest room with toys in it) that could be called a “dude ranch” on a goat farm just for you. 🙂 More baby goats and tons of milking due in a few weeks. Chuck would love to let you gather his eggs and let your children call out “here chick, chick, chick”, while they sprinkle grain for the crowding chickens. 🙂

    And I can’t believe I get to sample that honey. And almonds. Oh my gosh it’s almost unwaitable. 🙂

    • I was obviously also thinking of you guys when I wrote that! The eggs were SO YELLOW and wonderful. Happy chickens laid them. I’d love to make a trip out some time. Once the new one is rolling over, perhaps.

  6. Rachel says:

    You realize I now have a promisary note signed in your own blood, right? How ’bout this winter? Babe will be 6 months and you’ll be in need of some AZ winter sunshine!

Leave a Reply

