Glad I Saw It: Nursing in Public

Okay, I know I’m a total nerd when it comes to awesome lawn and door decorations, but these two cuties forced me to even get my husband to turn the car around and drive back so I could snap a photo.  (Usually, it’s a private obsession that I don’t like to expose.)

The real question is, what are they? I thought pigs.  Then I thought Chihuahuas. Then perhaps very happy dragons.  I actually think they are dogs of some sort – I mean, look at those happy faces! But what I love most is that one looks like it’s nursing its baby pig/chihuahua/dragon. Nursing in public! RADICAL! I knew there was a reason I fell in love with this family of guardians right away.

I’d love it if someone* could translate what is written on the bases – they aren’t the same characters.  And I just really need to know!  * Lisa (click on her name to read her blog) came through with translations for both statues. Check them out in comments.

I was able to find out that the male statue symbolizes dignity (with the royal orb allusion) and the female statue symbolizes thriving off-spring (for obvious reasons).  They are meant to ward off evil – but all I know is that they certainly made my day.

About That Unique* Weblog

Adjusting to the car culture, dealing with leaving a career I love, and spouting off along the way.
This entry was posted in Glad I Saw It, random observation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Glad I Saw It: Nursing in Public

  1. That’s got to be the most unique statue I’ve ever seen. My vote is dragon. Very cool.

  2. Lisa says:

    It means “everyone is celebrating”….celebrating indeed!!!!

    • Really? That’s so cool! (I have to believe you, of course…) What about the other one? Do they both say something similar? Thank you so much for stopping by!

      • Lisa says:

        And I have to believe my husband ;). I’m Chinese but American born and can read very little. The 2 are different, probably similar meanings. I’m texting him the pic as we speak to see if we can both get an answer!

  3. Lisa says:

    Ok, so the male orb one is the meaning I already gave you.
    The female one says “wealthy country, a people at peace”
    Interesting,huh?

  4. They are fantastic – what a great find! People at peace indeed!

  5. anna says:

    the statues are too great, and how much do i love the interwebs that a translation came-through in no time at all!

Leave a Reply

