Glad I Saw It: Elf House

One of the ideas that I’ve allowed to prosper in my children’s creative, yet-to-be-stymied brains is Elves Exist. Not the plush, stuffed guy that moved around the house prior to Christmas, but real Elves. The kind that live outside.  In Montclair we have loads of knotty, old trees with all sorts of interesting patterns and shapes.  Whenever we walk past one with a hole, my kids ask me, “Is that an Elf house?” Sometimes it is, and sometimes it’s not.  Sometimes it’s just an Elf shelter from the rain because it’s only an indent and not a true hole into the trunk.

On New Year’s Eve day we took a wonderful walk to Brookdale Park, and we found lots of Elf houses.  The joy the kids took in wondering if the Elves were home or not is worth the falsehood.  I figure my childhood belief (and maybe current belief, I’m not totally sure…) that forest dwellers included Elves, Gnomes, and Fairies didn’t hurt me – much.  Kids seem to get sucked into lots of “real life” pretend, why not let them dwell on true make-believe (oxymoron?) for as long as they’ll have it?

And it helps that we have a Gnome living on our block as well.  We’ve been saying hello to him since before we even moved in to our home.

About That Unique* Weblog

Adjusting to the car culture, dealing with leaving a career I love, and spouting off along the way.
This entry was posted in Favorite Houses, Glad I Saw It, Parenthood, People do silly things, random observation, Suburban Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Glad I Saw It: Elf House

  1. I think an active imagination makes for a happier child. I love imaginary creatures. . .and so do my 17 and 20 year olds. It’s a fun bond we share. Still!

  2. I was really into fairies, gnomes and elves when I was a kid. I owned many books about them and would spend hours and hours drawing pictures of them.
    They’re real, you know.

Leave a Reply

