Glad I Saw It: Suburban Snapshot

I think I can finally say that I feel fully Suburban now.  We’ve been getting The Montclair Times  since we moved here, but that arrives in the mailbox.  Now, we get The Star Ledger as well – in the front yard!  I know it’s not as exciting as the exclamation mark would imply, but I’m also the type of person who thinks hotel stationery in the desk drawer is exciting (mainly because I rarely stay in hotels – imagine what a folded towel animal on the bed would do to me!). 

When we stopped in to the recent art fair at Anderson Park, my husband decided to sign us up for The Star Ledger, so here we are.  Combine the morning arrival of the newspaper with the recycling cans waiting to be picked up* – and you’ve got Suburbia in a snapshot.

* Unless you live in my parents’ town.  There, it’s Pay As You Throw – you take your own trash and recycling to the dump (for a yearly fee).  And you pay for the trash bags.  If you don’t want to do that, you pay a $35 per month (or higher) fee for weekly pick-up.  Perhaps the people who complain about having to drag a can to the curb would rather choose between one of those.

About That Unique* Weblog

Adjusting to the car culture, dealing with leaving a career I love, and spouting off along the way.
This entry was posted in Glad I Saw It and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Glad I Saw It: Suburban Snapshot

  1. Jenn says:

    Re: Hotel Stationery – I have a blank Holiday Inn greeting card waiting in my desk to send to my pops for Christmas this year!

    • Great idea! So appropriate…and yet, not. Perfect.

      I think I love that kind of stuff because my Dad used to always bring home the mini-shampoos and other trinkets from hotels when he went away. I guess I associate them with my Dad coming home after a long trip. See? I don’t need a therapist to trigger memories – just blog comments!

  2. are u saying you get your trash picked-up for free in montclair? we’re payin folks over here in maplehood!

Leave a Reply

