Glad I Saw It: Live Garden Treasures

Hopefully these two three made it to shelter before the insane Friday night storm.

Inspired by another local mom and blogger, I spent a good amount of time last Friday weeding in the backyard.  I hadn’t done it for weeks, really, and it was pretty scary.  There were stalks of some weedy plants that rose higher than my children’s heads, and there were those creepy, thin plants that must be the scrawny relation to crabgrass because they behave in the same way.  No dandelions right now, however.

I had been in a little bit of a zone with the weeding when I stopped short.  Two lovely caterpillars* were creeping up (what I assumed to be) some weeds.  They weren’t moving, and I briefly considered capturing them and helping them to become butterflies in our home.  I settled on calling the kids over to check them out.  In hindsight, I probably should have taken them indoors because I don’t know how they would have survived the winds and rain that started just a couple of hours later.

Weeding is so much more difficult than my Brooklyn-living self ever dreamed.  Pruning is also a tough job.  Unfortunately, I tend to put both of these chores off which makes it that much more grunt-worthy when I finally MUST tackle them.  The wonderful part of spending time “de-cluttering” the garden is getting up-close and personal with the plants and the suburban wildlife.  After weeding around two smaller bushes, I noticed this plant that has yet to blossom:

I’m looking forward to that now.  Hopefully, it won’t be another two weeks before I get out there to check on how things are blooming.

* I only noticed that there were actually three when I downloaded the top photograph.

About That Unique* Weblog

Adjusting to the car culture, dealing with leaving a career I love, and spouting off along the way.
This entry was posted in Glad I Saw It, Suburban Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Glad I Saw It: Live Garden Treasures

  1. I read that piece on Adventures of a Middle Aged Mom and thought I have to get out in our yard. It is looking WILD. That is it, am now inspired to do a few hours this morning. Thanks!

  2. Thanks for the shout out!
    I just filled the bird feeder and pulled like 2 dozen weedy stalks on my short walk to the feeder. The recent rains have the weeds growing, well, like weeds!

  3. Pingback: Weed Wars: A New Hope | This Weblog is Unique. Just Like They All Are.

Leave a Reply

