Watchung Booksellers: Space for Graphic Novels

I’ve been making more trips to Watchung Booksellers since I joined a book club.  Since I am a strident brick and mortar supporter – especially when it comes to book stores – I love to go to the store itself.  So, while my two pre-schoolers spend some time playing in the children’s section and reading books (we’re very careful with them and put them back on the shelves), I browse and linger and inevitably find something else that we will want to read.  That’s when I saw this shelf:

Graphic novels!  As a high school English teacher, I used to feel like I had to hide my adoration for this medium – much like I used to feel like I had to hide my adoration for Silver Surfer and X-Men comic books from my fellow English majors in college.  But really, because of the allusions and adaptations, it was a natural progression from my obsession with various mythologies from around the world.  (Did anyone else watch The Secrets of Isis on Saturday mornings?)  My love of Greek and Roman mythology led me to take Latin in junior high, which I am sure helped my SAT scores.  But I digress…

So, Watchung Booksellers has a decent selection of graphic novels!*  These were the books in the children’s and young adult area.  I didn’t have time (two kids under five, you know) to check if there was a graphic novel section in the main store, but the staff is always very happy to order books – and they arrive quickly. I highly recommend trying out a graphic novel if you’re looking for a quick and interesting read.  Just a few of my favorites are American Born Chinese, Fun Home, Ghost World, and of course, Persepolis.  If you also love graphic novels, leave a few suggestions in the comments.  Please!

You should know that Montclair has a soon-to-be-published graphic novel author.  More to come on that in the relatively near future.

* I have it on excellent information that the Montclair Public Library also has a fantastic selection of graphic novels.  All budgets can enjoy them!

* Sugee! – also in Watchung Plaza –  has manga and related items.  My kids long for the funky hats in the window every time we pass.

About That Unique* Weblog

Adjusting to the car culture, dealing with leaving a career I love, and spouting off along the way.
This entry was posted in random observation, Suburban Life, Things I love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Watchung Booksellers: Space for Graphic Novels

  1. Loved AMERICAN BORN CHINESE (my publisher, First Second Books!) and loved PERSEPOLIS. Do you see BONE up there on the shelf. That’s a must read. One of my favorite. And author is from my hometown.

  2. The librarian I assist was a former English teacher and since she started working as a librarian at my school a year ago, she has begun a graphic novel section. Our school is for academically gifted middle school students and many people think graphic novels are baby books beneath the reading level of these kids. I would challenge anyone to read American Born Chinese and say it’s ‘easy’!

    • That’s great! I’ve always said that about comic books too. There’s more vocabulary in them than “Pow!” and “Kablam!” And the plots are quite complicated. I think I’m getting the urge to re-read American Born Chinese.

  3. I have SO many thoughts about comic books and graphic novels and the place they can have in the lives of readers! Some of my favorites (in addition to what’s been listed above):
    YA/Adult: Y: The Last Man by Brian K. Vaughn, Ex Machina (also by Vaughn), Concrete by Paul Chadwick , The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen by Alan Moore
    Middle Grade: Sidekicks by Dan Santat, Babymouse by Jenny Holm
    Young Readers: Guinea Pig: Pet Shop Private Eye by Colleen AF Venable (full disclosure, she’s a friend, but I’d love the books anyway)

    And as a reference, the YA branch of the ALA (American Library Assoc.) has an annual list of Great Graphic Novels for Teens: http://www.ala.org/yalsa/ggnt

  4. Ed says:

    Loved Peter Bagge’s Hate back in the day. Following the hilarious adventures of Buddy Bradley always brought a smile to my face. He lived in suburban New Jersey for many issues after Seattle didn’t work out. Now I’m going to have to dig out those old issues!

  5. I LOVE Watchung Booksellers; the staff is helpful and is always willing/able to order the books I want. I love receiving the call that my books are in. So happy the store has what you read and love!!

Leave a Reply

