Glad I Saw It: Firecracker Flower in Brookdale Park

Okay, so I don’t know what this flower is actually called.  I’m 98% sure it’s not “firecracker flower,” but it’s appropriate enough for today.

Tonight, July 1st, there is a free concert by the US Military Academy Band, followed by fireworks courtesy of Essex County.  It starts at 7:30 PM.

A lesson I learned last year:  Bring a flashlight for the walk back after the fireworks.  We were lucky enough to be able to follow some more prepared folks out of the park last year, but I’m making sure to have an independent light source this time around.

About That Unique* Weblog

Adjusting to the car culture, dealing with leaving a career I love, and spouting off along the way.
This entry was posted in Excellent Local People, Glad I Saw It and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Glad I Saw It: Firecracker Flower in Brookdale Park

  1. That is totally a firecracker flower.
    Have fun at the fireworks! Ours (here in Nyack) are on 7/4. This is the first year I’m bringing my boys to see them. Last year my youngest was only 4 and terrified of the “booms!”

  2. We took the kids last year, and they both covered their ears the whole time – but their eyes were watching every last blast.

  3. Beautiful flower – I think it is bee balm.

  4. love the flowers too. we are at the beach and the neighbors are setting off their own fireworks display every night at… you guessed it… right after i put my kids to sleep!

    happy fourth!

Leave a Reply

