Giving it Away for Free: Books

Where'd You Go, BernadetteI don’t remember what my top choices were for this year’s World Book Night. Last year I gave away The Handmaid’s Tale, and the year before that it was The Things They Carried. These were both books I loved and taught for many years, so it made sense to give them away. This year is different; I’ve never read Where’d You Go, Bernadette. I’m pretty sure it wasn’t my first choice, but considering my discombobulated self lately, it just may have been. The reviews are solid – and I’m looking forward to reading it myself.

Judging from the write-ups, it seems that there is some sending up and tearing down of those who may need to re-envision their privilege and priorities. Sounds about right for what we could all use once in a while.

Anyone want to read this novel with me? Get a copy at Watchung Booksellers, or try to find me this evening around the Essex County area for a copy to read and then pass along.

Want more information about World Book Night? Take a look here: WBN USA

About That Unique* Weblog

Adjusting to the car culture, dealing with leaving a career I love, and spouting off along the way.
This entry was posted in People do silly things, Suburban Life, Things I love and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Giving it Away for Free: Books

  1. Bernadette is a very light, fun read. It is often laugh out loud hilarious. There is some suspension of reality here, but that doesn’t usually bother me. I enjoyed this book very much. Wow, read the Handmaid’s Tale so long ago (I recently saw it on my bookshelf).

Leave a Reply

