Mr. Rogers Says Thank You, and so can you

thank youIn this age of emails and texts, the Thank You card seems superfluous and perhaps even “too much.” Mr. Rogers brings the art of saying Thank You back to basics. Take some time this Thanksgiving weekend to stop and thank someone. It doesn’t have to be a grand gesture for a great sacrifice. Make it an unexpected response to a small kindness. But do it to show you noticed.

Here are some simple and lovely ideas for homemade Thank You cards for the kids to make from the PBS site. But purchased cards with a sincere note of thanks work too.

Stop in to see some of the blogs over on the yeah write moonshine grid. It’ll make you want to write a Thank You card to the blogosphere.

About That Unique* Weblog

Adjusting to the car culture, dealing with leaving a career I love, and spouting off along the way.
This entry was posted in Parenthood, People are Good and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Mr. Rogers Says Thank You, and so can you

  1. Natalie DeYoung says:

    I still send real thank you notes. It’s just how I was raised. It’s so sad that the custom has been diminishing, because it’s polite.

  2. zoe says:

    I love thank you notes… I think I like sending them best… people love to get snail mail! It drives me nuts that my kid who is now an adult forgos this practice despite that we never did when he was young.

    • It’s tough when we seem so in-touch (yet out-of-touch) these days. A “hey thanks!” in a text followed up with a paper card…then people might feel obligated to thank you for the thank you…But there is so much redundancy in other areas, why not for thanks?

  3. nikkiana says:

    I’m going to be the odd one out here, but I’ve always felt really uncomfortable about thank you cards. I’m struggling to put my finger on why… Maybe it’s because I really don’t like it when people make a fuss over the fact that I’ve done something nice? Maybe it’s because I tend to balk at the expectation of a card? I really want to like the concept of thank you cards… but there’s something about it that’s never set quite right with me.

    • I get that, actually. Except I prefer cards because I’m so bad at accepting thanks in person. I pooh-pooh things, even when it was a REAL favor or something major, because I’m embarrassed to be spotlighted. A card, however, allows me to absorb the appreciation in private. So I can take time to thank myself for being so awesome. (Kidding!)

      Suffice it to say, I get the discomfort. But I’ve learned that allowing people to thank you is a selfless act. They NEED to feel like you know it’s appreciated. I know I always want people to know I appreciated their efforts.

      Thanks for stopping in and being the dissenting voice!

  4. TriGirl says:

    I like real cards as well. People at work are still very good at sending thank you cards, but really they’re the only ones :)

    • I’m just terrible, but I like doing it once in a while. When the spirit moves me. I wonder if the slightly less personal relationship of work helps encourage the more personal gesture of a “paper” card? These are my deep thoughts on a Saturday night.

  5. Calamity Rae says:

    I lahove real cards. I have a friend who hand makes some cool cards and she sends me a bunch from time to time. I’m that person who always has blank cards on hand. One time, at Costco, they had these awesome 3d cards in a box, divided up with tabs by category. I’m telling you – I was happy for like a month. No one should be that happy over cards. THANK YOU for this post, btw. =)

  6. Erica M says:

    I may have lost friendships over my tendency to procrastinate on thank you cards. People have constantly done nice things for me, but I think it’s because I am constantly doing nice things for others. I don’t really expect a written thank you (but I would like a small, verbal courtesy thank you, and don’t get me started on kids who don’t open their birthday gifts while their guests are present then don’t send their acknowledgements ever). Since I don’t expect a written note, it’s hard for me to remember how important one is for other people even if I said thank you right when they made the gesture. So my gratefulness has been very often misconstrued as the exact opposite. I will never be mistaken for one of those super considerate people with handmade paper in her oak writing desk, but I am always available when my friends need me, so I hope that counts for something.

    • We’ve all got our things. As I mentioned to Nikkiana, verbal thanks often make me feel uncomfortable. And then I start negating whatever nice thing I did which makes the thanker feel like a douche for thanking me for something so ridiculously miniscule. (I also think any friendship that was lost over a lack of thank you cards was probably paper-thin to begin with.) I tend to send “real” thank you cards to the people I know will appreciate them. Or when I REALLY feel like putting words to paper. But then I usually screw up a word and get caught up in deciding if I should put a line through it, scribble out the misplaced letter or just start over. Oh, it’s really such a complicated world.

  7. Great ideas for thank you cards! I love to receive them. Email thank yous are so impersonal. Saying hi from the Moonshine Grid. I am grateful for turkey and pumpkin pie. http://www.mommyhasaheadache.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

