Glad I Saw It: Frozen Tear Drops

January 2013 ice and sleetWaiting at the bus stop has distinct advantages. For one, I get to revel in my superiority as I give the stink eye to all the drivers talking on and reading what’s on their phones. But more pleasant is the chance to have some time to stop and check out the subtle and not-so-subtle changes as each day passes.

Today was a not-so-subtle change. The plants in front of the abandoned house that is the backdrop to our bus stop were all covered in ice, and it made for a fun way to pass the time until the bus arrived. My son compared the frozen droplets to rain drops, but then he said, “No, they are more like tear drops because the plant misses spring.” I’m torn about that. The gooey, slushy, muddy mess that is the curb (And that he stepped right into before boarding the bus. Of course.) is something I could survive happily without, but winter also brings great beauty and stillness and clarity. I imagine that the plants appreciate a time to rest before the burst of growth and activity as well.

* This photo was taken with my phone, and I’m linking it to GFunkified’s #iPPP wonderful collections of other blog posts that include phone photos. Check them out!

About That Unique* Weblog

Adjusting to the car culture, dealing with leaving a career I love, and spouting off along the way.
This entry was posted in Glad I Saw It, Parenthood, random observation and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Glad I Saw It: Frozen Tear Drops

  1. It was so pretty this morning! But yeah, the streets are a slushy mess. I’d never really seen ice drops on plants like that before. I like that the plants are crying for Spring :)

  2. So pretty! I really think those crystal drops look like something Pottery Barn would sell :)

  3. gfunkified says:

    I love what your little guy said about them missing spring, but you also mention a perspective that I wouldn’t have thought of. We probably need the rest before the hustle and bustle of the warm weather takes us out of the winter hibernation, too, don’t we?

  4. What a gorgeous photo!
    I’ve been away from winter climates so long that I actually miss the seasons. (Never thought I’d say that.)

  5. Abigail says:

    What an insightful kid. Although you brought a perspective into it I wouldn’t have thought of. I bet the plants do like the rest that winter gives. I, on the other hand, don’t think I’d miss winter one tiny bit. Ah well.

Leave a Reply

