Glad I Saw It: Leaf Bag

Growing up, I remember jumping in huge piles of leaves, and in my joy, destroying the back-breaking work my father had just performed. These days, the idea of jumping into the piles we’ve raked up kind of grosses me out – partly due to the lumps of dog crap we find on our lawn every few days. Still, the autumn’s raking provides great suburban exercise and time to be outside. And bagging the leaves isn’t shabby work either.

This lovely specimen was one of about twelve leaf bags in front of this home. I don’t know why I found this repaired leaf bag so funny, but I did. There’s got to be some kind of odd intersection of recycling and composing and reusing in here somewhere.

Kudos to the neighbor who decided to save the $1 or so and the bag itself with this duct tape solution.  I’ll bet the leaf bag is also grateful to be able to fulfill its intended destiny.

About That Unique* Weblog

Adjusting to the car culture, dealing with leaving a career I love, and spouting off along the way.
This entry was posted in Excellent Local People, Glad I Saw It, Suburban Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Glad I Saw It: Leaf Bag

  1. outlawmama says:

    I love that you love this.

  2. I have never seen a paper leaf bag before. This in alone is interesting to me! I could use all these leaves. Sandy blew most of the neighborhood leaves off to parts unknown and since I use our leaves to mulch my flower beds this year I had to go to all the neighbors asking if I could rake their yards and take their leaves!

  3. Kianwi says:

    I still love playing in leaves, although the thought of what’s in them does cross my mind, when it never used to as a kid. I get a shabby amount of leaves and I’m always bummed!

Leave a Reply

