Nightmare on Bellevue Avenue

The biggest horror is the chunk a squirrel took out of the pumpkin!

I love Hallowe’en. I never get tired of seeing how people choose to decorate. And while there are loads of gory and fun decorations to purchase (which is what we’ve done the last two years), it’s especially excellent when people take it on themselves to use their own sick senses of humor and horror to entertain the masses.

This house on Bellevue Avenue has done a ghoulish job of using gravestones and silly sayings to create a motley crew of mourners in their front yard.  I especially like “Here lies Ivana Pea” and “Ghoul Who Cut School.”  The red demon coming out of the shrubbery is pretty horrifying as well. What are some of the best Hallowe’en Houses near you?

About That Unique* Weblog

Adjusting to the car culture, dealing with leaving a career I love, and spouting off along the way.
This entry was posted in Favorite Houses, Glad I Saw It, People do silly things, Suburban Life, Things I love and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Nightmare on Bellevue Avenue

  1. I love the “Ran with Scissors” tombstone! There’s a family not too far from us that goes all out decorating for Halloween. They’ve collected an assortment of scary skeletons, demons, etc. and the big draw is a full-size carriage on the front lawn with skeleton riders.They light it perfectly making it extra spooky. Fun stuff!

  2. So fun! I think Montclair goes all out for all of the holidays more than where I am. We did have an awesome spooky house last year – unbelievable. Graveyard, blood on the sidewalk, tons of dry ice, spooky insides, scary sounds. But, they moved to Florida. Boo!

  3. Azara says:

    This is awesome. I love the tombstones, especially the one that reads “I see dumb people”. Perfect for Halloween.

  4. I laughed out loud over “you should see the other guy” :)

  5. I just found you via the Yeah Write NaBloPoMo so I’m not sure where you live, but Texas goes bananas for Halloween, just like with everything else. It really IS bigger. So fun to see people go all out…even if we forgot to even buy pumpkins for the porch this year. Doh!

Leave a Reply

