Glad I Saw It: Health * Love * Soul

I don’t know about everyone else, but my heart hurts lately.  My stomach is a pit of lethargic butterflies, and my head is teetering on the edge of complete cynicism and empty despair.

It’s not actually all the time – how can it be with two preschoolers who force you to see the joy and beauty around you?  And thankfully, there are some other people who help us look back to the good – which is the majority of what happens around us.  Really, really it is.  I found a post on Twitter last night. Just when I really needed it.

Please go ahead and read the whole, wonderful piece. It won’t make you forget Toulouse, Sanford, California, Afghanistan, or even Rush and Geraldo. But I’ll bet it helps you remember a lot of good. And if things are going to evolve for the better, we need to start from there.

from Karen Walrond, aka Chookooloonks, on Babble: I bother, because every time I’m the recipient of some kindness, I remember that there is beauty in the world.

I bother, because I think that the media is ultimately the business of selling, and sadly, ugly behaviour and disheartening stories sell.  But they aren’t the whole story.

I bother, because my young daughter is looking to me for ways to deal with life, and I want her to realize that despite everything, life is very, very good.

I bother, because even if I can’t change the world, I can change my world.  And my world isn’t insignificant, dammit.

photo taken at HLS on Bloomfield Avenue in Montclair

linked to Get Your Happy On with Just Jennifer

About That Unique* Weblog

Adjusting to the car culture, dealing with leaving a career I love, and spouting off along the way.
This entry was posted in Glad I Saw It, People are Good, random observation, Things I love and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Glad I Saw It: Health * Love * Soul

  1. Thanks for the lovely shout-out! It’s going on my gratitude list for today. :)

    K.

  2. Love it. Such a wonderful remind to not lose heart.

  3. Anna says:

    perfect read for this morning! lately i have been encouraging my kids to “choose kindness!” and “choose happiness!” and while they give me the same bewildered look i get when i tell them to clean their room, i like to think when they grow-up they will understand what i’m trying to say.

  4. justjenannhall says:

    Years ago, before becoming a mother, I was a “news-aholic”. I watched the local and national news every night, subscribed to TIME magazine and watched Dateline and 20/20. After I had babies, I couldn’t do it anymore. Everything began to hurt based on my new view of life and world as a mom. With my new perspective, I realized the news is absolutely like stated above, “that the media is ultimately the business of selling, and sadly, ugly behaviour and disheartening stories sell.” Sure, they try to through good news stories in the mix, but it’s still so off balance.

    Recent events in my life have shown me the true wonderful, goodness that IS present in human beings. I hurt, but I have hope.

    Excellent post!

    • I have to admit that using Twitter as my news source has been overwhelming. I feel like I need to respond to every event – with pathos!

      And the fact is, there’s a lot less violence now than at any other point in history. We just know about it all now. Sigh. Thank you for stopping in!

Leave a Reply

