Warning: Feeling Groovy (or Warm Fuzzies are So Not Me, but there you go)

It’s easy enough to forget what this little reminder tells you as you order something delicious from The Bread Company at 113 Walnut Street. Love really is everywhere – and I don’t mean in a weird, hug the next person you meet on the street sort of way. That could get you into serious trouble. I mean that more often than not, the people we run into want to be friendly and kind and good – but it’s less dangerous for the ego and less effort to be glum or to wear a face that says “Don’t bother, I don’t want to talk.” I used to call it my “train face” for commuting. Now it’s the small town version: “Let me steep in anonymity, please.”

Just yesterday I went to a Zumba fund-raiser for The Playhouse in West Orange, and the vibe there was so fun and open and joyful. Accepting. It was a similar feeling when I went into The Bread Company last week. The person behind the counter as well as the customers were into just being patient and interested and kind to each other.  It seriously felt like a mini-vacation from the rushed, grumpy craziness we sometimes encounter as we follow our routines.

Give yourself a homework assignment to do something other today. Stop in at a different place for a coffee, slow down as you drive around town so you are able to safely stop for a pedestrian, force yourself to say a genuine “Good morning” to someone as you pass – with eye contact! Whatever.  Maybe it’ll suck. And maybe it will make someone’s day. Either way, it’s worth it to expand our realities just a tad.

“I have decided to stick with love. Hate is too great a burden to bear.” ~ Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

About That Unique* Weblog

Adjusting to the car culture, dealing with leaving a career I love, and spouting off along the way.
This entry was posted in Excellent Local People, People are Good, People do silly things, random observation, Suburban Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Warning: Feeling Groovy (or Warm Fuzzies are So Not Me, but there you go)

  1. georgettegilmore says:

    Lovely post and reminder of what’s important.

  2. Eloiza says:

    thank you for sharing this. what a gift to “expand our realities” and to experience being joyful, kind and patient. lovely. xoxo

  3. Farrah says:

    I wish I saw this yesterday! While I was at the deli waiting I had my ‘don’t try to mother effin cut in front of me bitch’ face on. I know it. Ugh. Now I regret cutting off the woman who tried to – sort of. And if I leave the house today.. I’ll try!

    • I wear that face a lot. The senior citizen I shop with twice a month has helped me be nicer while grocery shopping. I still hustle past slower, older folks – but I try to do it nicely. It’s amazing how friendly older people are – they are the true invisible population. I also try to chat with people in line – unless they’re wearing the “Get the flippin’ feather burger out of my face you do-gooder dipstick” face. Then I just leave them alone. Which is what I want people to do for me sometimes. Some days are made for hard-core solitude.

  4. I’m having trouble imagining your “train face” you always seem to be smiling! It’s hard not to smile in the Montclair Bread Company.

  5. You are definitely onto something when it comes to older folks. I end up talking with some of the most amazing older people. My family always laughs and tells me I have a “talk to me” face that seniors love.

  6. anna says:

    when i used to live south of the mason dixon everyone was pretty much always friendly. since moving north, of gotten used to the other way of being. but friendlier sure is better.

Leave a Reply

