Giveaway: I’m Here – a book that gives a big hug.

Winner: Congratulations Emily!  Your books are on their way!

I’m a book person.  I always have been.  I was the kid who left your birthday party to go up to your room and sit on the floor reading all your books while other kids pinned tails on donkeys and did the hokey-pokey.  Books were always a source of comfort for a shy kid, and they were also a source of adventure and learning.

This past weekend, Words Bookstore had a reading of I’m Here, by the author and illustrator, Peter H. Reynolds.  I’m Here is the kind of book that feels like a big hug.  It centers around a child who feels like he’s outside looking in (its focus is on autism, and it’s also highly accessible to any child who has felt out of it).  Watch the video based on the book: I’m Here.

from the WORDS blurb about the book:  Pure, powerful, and deceptively simple, bestselling author and illustrator Peter H. Reynolds reminds us that children—and the friendships they make—can bloom in unexpected ways. This extraordinary picture book gives voice to the often silent world of a kid struggling to connect with his peers and speaks to the universal need to be loved and heard.

Thanks to the generosity of Simon & Schuster, I have a copy of this wonderful book to give to one reader.  Since I’m feeling like I have a lot to be thankful for lately, I’ll also include a copy of Olivia Talks Turkey in the package.  It’s a very cute book – stickers included! – and since she’s talking turkey and not eating turkey, it’s perfect for a vegetarian like me.

If you’d like to try for the book, leave a comment by Sunday, November 13, 2011 at 9 p.m. about something you are thankful for right now.  Yes, now!  It’s not required, but also feel free to check out and *like* my Facebook page for this weblog.  I will choose one person who commented at random to receive the books.  

About That Unique* Weblog

Adjusting to the car culture, dealing with leaving a career I love, and spouting off along the way.
This entry was posted in People are Good, Review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Giveaway: I’m Here – a book that gives a big hug.

  1. I am thankful for all the hugs I get from my children!

  2. Andrea says:

    Right this second, I’m thankful for the coworker who brought in her homemade red velvet chocolate chip cupcakes with vanilla peppermint frosting to share today. In general, I’m thankful for my family (amazing husband and children, great parents and fantastic sisters (especially the older one!).

  3. Christina says:

    I am thankful for my friends and their always fun-to-read websites!

  4. jrfrugalmom says:

    I am thankful to have three healthy kids!

    Thank you for this giveaway!

  5. I’m a sports Mom and right here, right now, I’m thankful no serious injuries occurred at the MHS v Livingston North 1, Group 4 girls soccer championship game today. And our MHS girls won!

  6. Emily says:

    I’m thankful for my wonderful family and friends, especially my cuddly and silly kids. And I’m thankful for this excellent book giveaway! We just happened to borrow Ish (another Peter Reynolds book) from the library and loved it.

  7. Carla says:

    I’m thankful that my kids got the flu shot before I got the flu this week.

  8. Debra Rutt says:

    Right this second I’m thankful that I have my family, good friends and a Starbucks Venti Hot Chocolate with extra whipped cream to get me thru this day. I’m also thankful for books – which take me & my kids to different places!

  9. I’m so so thankful for my babies and that my husband and I can be there for them most days when they come home from school. I’m thankful we have enough food, a cozy home and enough left over to indulge in a few things that we really want.

Leave a Reply

